Watch 2016 total solar eclipse live

Watch 2016 total solar eclipse live

Early on March 9, 2016 (UTC), the Moon will position itself right in front of the Sun and create a total solar eclipse for viewers in parts of central Indonesia and the Pacific Ocean. South and East Asia, Japan, Korea, Australia, Hawaii and Alaska will get to see varying degrees of the almost equally stunning partial solar eclipse. The rest of us can enjoy it right here on The Watchers, courtesy of Slooh Community Observatory and NASA.

NASA, in partnership with the Exploratorium Science Center in San Francisco, will host live coverage of the eclipse originating from Woleai Island in Micronesia and offer opportunities to talk with solar scientists.

NASA Television (video below) will begin coverage at 01:00 UTC on March 9 (20:00 EST on March 8). Twitter, Google+ and Facebook users will be able to join the conversation and ask questions using the hashtag #eclipse2016. The NASA Twitter account for the eclipse is @NASASunEarth.

Video courtesy of NASA

Slooh Community Observatory solar eclipse webcast (video below) will be live between 23:00 UTC on March 8 (18:00 EST) and 02:00 UTC on March 9 (21:00 EST). In addition to multiple feeds from Indonesia capturing totality, Slooh will have live feeds from several other locations along the eclipse path. 

Slooh's show will be hosted by their Astronomer Paul Cox, accompanied by a team from the Institute of Astrophysics of the Canary Islands (IAC) and a range of special guests including solar expert Dr. Lucie Green and Slooh Astronomer Bob Berman. Viewers can ask questions to the panel during the broadcast via the chatroom and using the Twitter hashtag #SloohEclipse.

Video courtesy of Slooh

Featured image credit: MrHayata (CC - Flickr). Edit: TW.

Comments

No comments yet. Why don't you post the first comment?

Post a comment

Your name: *

Your email address: *

Comment text: *

The image that appears on your comment is your Gravatar